Ultra sonic level measuring devices.

Post #1 made 6 years ago
Hi Guys

First major post for a while due to life getting in the way of brewing but hopefully it will be an interesting one.

So as the title goes, how important is the Evaporation rate you get for your brews. The reason I'm asking is that as an Electrical Engineer I have aquired a fair jumble of equipment stashed in the garage. In this pile of mainly junk are a couple of Ultra sonic level measuring devices. These are used to measure a level in a vessel/gully/silo by using sound waves, just like sonar on a submarine would ping a target to get its range.

Anyway as these can measure a distance down to a millimeter (possibly less I'll have to check) I got to thinking that it wouldn't take a lot to rig up one over my brewpot to enable super accurate measurements to be made. Apart from making my brew day a bit easier :think: :geek: :argh: I'm thinking the data collected might be usefull ?

What do you think, would I be wasting my time ?? Am I re-inventing the wheel ?

Feel free to shoot me down :shoot: :shoot: or chip in with any ideas/suggestions.

:thumbs:

Yeasty

PS... Just had a thought, as the controls have relay outputs I could progam them to shut off the gas (via solenoid) once a level has been reached and sound an alarm. :scratch:
Why is everyone talking about "Cheese"
    • SVA Brewer With Over 50 Brews From Great Britain

Post #2 made 6 years ago
Good Day Yeasty, I have had a bit of experience with these.

The vapor from the boil and the boiling surface of the wort, may make these ultrasonics a little unstable.
so I would try using cold water levels to set the ranges, and hope the boiling doesn't upset the reading very much.

I have seen "float bowls" used to stop tank filling in the way you are thinking about. Kind of like a toilet/lou/head.
The float is attached to a rod and guides, so the rods movement trips limit switchs.